Ruthin School Phone Icon

Cracking Chemists

Three sixth-formers of Ruthin School  Bill Zhang (China), Alicia Chau (Hong Kong) and Saakar Byahut (Nepal) took part in The Schools’ Analyst Competition 2009. This compeition, run by the RSC (Royal School of Chemistry), has heats taking place throughout March and April each year. The North Wales heat, hosted by Bangor University, was won by  the three talented Year 12 students from Ruthin School.
Our winners now progress onto the final; this year held at the University of Plymouth. The competition was closely fought with another local independent school, Howell’s School, coming second and Yale College, third.
The students  each received an engraved trophy and the chemistry department received a computer courtesy of Gaia Technologies of Anglesey. The School received a splendid engraved trophy in recognition of the students’ success. The trophies were presented in assembly by Professor Maher Kalaji, Head of School of Chemistry at Bangor who was accompanied by  Mr Wil Thomas,  of Gaia Technologies.

Posted on: June 6, 2009